Home >  Research > Featrued Research
Is there any anomaly change of the electron density in the ionosphere before Taiwan earthquakes? The electron density on Taiwan's magnetic latitude is known to be the maximum on the earth especially during the afternoon period (Chen et al., 2000, PCE). A study of its daily variation further reveals that the electron density on Taiwan is relatively stable to reach its maximum during the afternoon period (Liu, Chen and Lin, 2003, JGR). A statistical detection of the anomaly before Taiwan earthquakes shows that an extraordinary decrease in the electron density majorly occurs post noon (Liu and Chen et al., 2001, JGR). Applying the statistical detection to the historical data finds that the probability of such a electron density anomaly is enhanced especially when the effect of magnetic storms is removed. In fact, a statistical analysis concludes that Taiwan's earthquakes of larger magnitude is more likely to experience the anomaly and the earthquakes closer to the ionosonde station has a better chance to be recognized ahead of time. These statistical results have shed light into the study of searching for earthquake precursors.
 
Major cooperative partners include the Institute of System Biology and Bioinformatics of National Central University, Taipei Cathay General Hospital, Chungli Landseed Hospital, and Taipei Medical University. Dr. Tsou also actively participates in the execution of joint research programs between National Central University and Landseed Hospital, and uses data from cohort research to explore the related factors of occurrence and disappearance of metabolism disorder syndrome together with doctors of Landseed Hospital.
 
Professor Takeshi Emura
Developing a personalized prediction formula using Cox proportional hazards model involving high-dimensional genetic factors and dynamic tumour progression status. Copulas are used to model the dependence between survival and tumour progression while a compound covariate is used for summarizing high-dimensional genetic factors. This research is developed with biostatisticians from Academia Sinica, INSERM Biostatistic (France), and Nagoya University (Japan). See the reference Emura et al. (2017 Stat Methods Med Res, doi:10.1177/0962280216688032) for details.

  Last updated: 2017-03-17

Copyright © 2012 Graduate Institute of Statistics National Central University
Add  No. 300, Zhongda Rd., Zhongli District, Taoyuan City 32001, Taiwan (R.O.C.)  /  Tel  (03)422-7151 # 65450   /  Fax  (03)425-8602   /      ncu65450@cc.ncu.edu.tw

中大統計研究所首頁 >  學術研究 > 特色研究
台灣地震前電離層的電子濃度會有異常改變嗎 ?
全球以台灣磁緯區在下午時段的電離層電子濃度最高 ( Chen et al., 2000, PCE) , 而且研究其日變化,得知台灣的電子濃度在下午時段相對穩定地達到最大 ( Liu, Chen and Lin, 2003, JGR ) 。 透過中位數及四分位距的逐時演算,偵測異常的電離層電子濃度,進一步發現主要是下午時段的電子濃度具有異常降低 (Liu and Chen et al., 2001, JGR) 。 將此一統計偵測方法應用分析台灣歷史資料 , 在排除磁暴效應後 ,台灣地震之前具有此種異常的電離層電子濃度的機會可能性大幅提高 。 事實上,進一步的統計模式分析 ,得知規模愈大的地震愈有機會在地震之前經歷這種電子濃度異常改變 ;同時,距離電離層測站愈近的地震有較佳機會在之前被測得具有這種異常 (Liu and Chen et al., 2006, JGR)。 經過統計檢定,驗證此一電子濃度異常的發生與台灣地震具有相關 (Chen, et al., 2004, TAO) 。 這些統計的分析結果為尋求地震前兆的研究帶來一些想像與希望。
 
主要的合作對象包括中央大學系統生物研究所,台北國泰醫院,中壢壢新醫院,台北醫學大學。並且積極參與中央大學壢新醫院聯合研究計劃之執行 , 與壢新醫院醫師利用世代 (cohort) 研究資料 , 探索影響代謝症候群之發生與消失的相關因素。
 
利用Cox比例風險模型建構個人化預測公式,其中使用了高維度遺傳基因以及動態腫瘤復發狀態資料。存活時間與腫瘤復發之間的相關性由關聯結構(copula)模型來描述,而高維度遺傳基因則使用複合共變量(compound covariate)來結合。本研究由來自中央研究院、國家衛生暨醫學研究院(法國,INSERM)以及名古屋大學(日本)的生物統計學家們共同研發。詳情請見Emura et al. (2017 Stat Methods Med Res, doi:10.1177/0962280216688032) 。

  最後更新日期: 2017-03-17
版權所有 © 2012 國立中央大學.統計研究所
Add  (32001) 桃園市中壢區中大路300號,鴻經館5樓501室  /  Tel  (03)422-7151 轉 65450   /  Fax  (03)425-8602   /      ncu65450@cc.ncu.edu.tw